WFCA now accepting nominations for Gold Standard Award

Home News WFCA now accepting nominations for Gold Standard Award

It’s that time of year again. No, you’re not going to hear “Winter Wonderland” play for the 40th time at the local supermarket . . . yet. Instead, it’s time for the annual, highly coveted WFCA Gold Standard Award nominations.

The Gold Standard Award is presented each year to one WFCA member retailer who exemplifies the standards of a WFCA member and has created an outstanding retail experience.

Do you have what it takes? Well consider the following and if you can answer ‘yes’ to at least a few questions, then you’re definitely a candidate. Are your customers happy? Do tiny bluebirds sing at your doorstep? Do your employees smile from ear to ear when they walk in the door each day? Do little ones beg their parents to take them to the floor store with the bounce house outside? Do you get new business from customer referrals?


To receive the award, retailers are reviewed and judged based on:

  • Knowledge – Ensuring a knowledgeable management and staff who work to

remain actively informed on the industry;

  • Customer Service – Providing courteous service and offering customers help

throughout the selection, purchase and after-purchase processes;

  • Quality of Store Image – A clean, professional, well maintained store must be

presented at all times;

  • Code of Conduct — The facility must adhere to the WFCA Code of Conduct

In addition, companies must also be members of the WFCA, have been in business for at least 3 years, and have favorable Better Business Bureau reports.

The winner of this year’s award will receive a $5,000.00 check, a Gold Standard Trophy, press recognition and a customized WFCA seal for their store entrance.

To enter, applicants must complete the submission form and present multimedia marketing materials and other documents, all of which will be factored into the review process. The deadline for submissions is December 31, 2012. Companies interested in entering or nominating an entrant for the 2013 Gold Standard Award can visit wfca- or call (800) 624-6880 for more details.

NOTE: All entry material will be treated with complete confidentiality and will be reviewed only by the judging panel.

The award winner will be announced at Surfaces in Las Vegas, NV between January 29th and 31st, 2013.


The World Floor Covering Association, official sponsor of Surfaces, is the floor covering industry’s largest advocacy organization representing flooring retailers, contractors and allied service providers throughout North America. The WFCA is a recognized leader in marketing research and industry certification programs and operates the premier consumer flooring website —, providing unbiased information about every type of floor covering and connecting customers to member retail stores.

The WFCA also influences public policy affecting the floor covering industry and consumers. For more information about the WFCA, visit and


Must Read

Shaw Industries, Encina announce carpet recycling partnership

The Woodlands, Texas — Encina Development Group, a producer of ISCC+ circular chemicals from end-of-life plastics, has announced a new recycling partnership with Shaw...

What’s new with moldings, accessories, sundries

As flooring professionals know all too well, a job isn’t complete until the proper finishing touches—moldings, accessories, sundries—have been installed. With so much importance...

Pergo Extreme expands product offering

Calhoun, Ga.—Pergo Extreme is continuing to expand its portfolio with 16 new introductions and advancing its existing waterproof warranty by adding WetProtect technology to...

How some flooring dealers make ecommerce work

The idea of ecommerce is still in its infancy within the world of flooring. While the concept has found success within some home improvement-related...

CFI, NWFA recognize FCEF training program

Dalton—The Certified Flooring Installer (CFI) program and the National Wood Flooring Association (NWFA) will offer credit toward their certifications for students completing the Floor...

CARE to increase carpet differential assessment

Dalton—CalRecycle directed the California Carpet Stewardship Program (CARE) to increase the carpet differential assessment effective April 1, 2023. The increase is necessary, according to...
Some text some message..