NTCA elects new board of directors

Home News NTCA elects new board of directors

Chris Walker

Flowood, Miss.—The National Tile Contractors Association (NTCA) elected new officers and board members for 2021 and 2022 at its annual meeting, which was held virtually on Dec. 3, 2020. The COVID-19 pandemic caused the cancellation of the Coverings trade show, where the new roster would have been announced.

The new leadership is made up of:

  • Chris Walker, chairman of the board
  • Martin Brooks, president
  • Sam Bruce, 1st vice president
  • Rod Owen, 2nd vice president

Chris Walker, who had served as NTCA president for 2018-2020, continues to serve as the chairman of the ANS A108 committee, and was the NTCA Tile Person of the Year in 2018. Walker is vice president—Northeast region for David Allen Company, Bristow, Va.

“I am proud of my 20-year association with NTCA,” Walker said. “NTCA is a 74-year-old organization with some really fine people. It is recognized as one of the finest trade associations of its kind.”

NTCA presidents move up through the chairs in two-year term increments, from 2nd vice president to 1st vice president to president, and then serve two years as chairman of the board, and afterwards as advisory board members.

Former chairman, Martin Howard of David Allen Company, Raleigh, N.C., will now become an advisor to the executive committee. The new president, Martin Brookes, is a principal at Heritage Marble and Tile, Mill Valley, Calif. Sam Bruce is president/operations director of Visalia Ceramic Tile, Visalia, Calif. Rod Owen is president of C.C. Owen Tile Company, Jonesboro, Ga.

“With the goal in mind to diversify NTCA, directors are chosen from large and small companies as well as from businesses from regions around the country,” explained Jim Olson, NTCA assistant executive director.

Outgoing directors include Robert Showers, Region 2; Paige Smith, Region 3; Michael Weaver, Region 4; Dirk Sullivan, Region 9; and Stan Platt, Region 10.

Incoming directors include Mike Corona, Corona Marble & Tile, Region 2; Matt Welner, Blue Ridge Tile & Stone, Region 3; Josh Hogeboom, Spectra Contract Flooring, Region 4; Trask Bergerson, Bergerson Tile, Region 9; and Elizabeth Lambert, Lambert Tile, Region 10.

Must Read

Footprints Floors launches The First Fruits Fund

Littleton, Colo.—Footprints Floors, a 160-plus-unit flooring franchise, said it prides itself on being an organization that believes in the greater good. The brand recently...

TDG announces digital strategy for 2023

Dalton—The Dixie Group (TDG) has unveiled its digital strategy for 2023, which includes enhancing its digital capabilities by partnering with several companies to create...

Stanton removes hard surface freight surcharges

Woodbury, N.Y—Stanton has removed hard surface freight surcharges for DWF and Vanguard Flex beginning with shipped orders Monday, Dec. 5. "We hope this will make...

Karndean launches new Opus visuals

Export, pa.— Karndean Designflooring introduced new commercial market-exclusive abstract visuals in varying size formats. The company said these visuals are designed to interact with...

Retailers React: What’s your strategy for finding new installers?

Every two weeks, FCNews seeks out flooring retailers across the country to offer their advice on hot topics of the day. This week we...

Happy Feet, Welspun partner on charitable product offering

Dalton—Happy Feet International is expanding its offerings to include new products from Welspun Flooring where a portion of every Welspun sale will go toward...
Some text some message..